SYNTH ZONE
Visit The Bar For Casual Discussion
Topic Options
#346691 - 07/10/12 01:01 AM follow up to the "Deckertainment" thread
Mark79100 Offline

Loc: USA
I found the comments in the other thread about the rapidly changing music scene to be quite interesting and right on the money. Been thinking about it for a few days, particularly what Donny wrote (he's also right on the money). Then I read this Craigslist post...from a seemingly down-to-earth, sincere young lady...especially meaningful as this "synthetic music" phenomenon seems to be world-wide:

http://london.craigslist.co.uk/muc/3125697981.html

edited post:

"Good Morning.

I'm a female guitarist with hopes to start a progressive/heavy rock/blues band. I have no desire to be famous or act the part of bimbo in heels. But, I do have a deep desire to create meaningful music with thoughtful people for the average person's enjoyment. (People have become so unbearably miserable)

…..but I'm having a few inner problems with the whole thing. First, music has changed so much over the years. It doesn't matter if I'm at a venue or listening to the radio, I have a great deal of trouble telling the difference between one band from the next. And generally this "music" is repetitive and detached thus uncreative. Which leads me to my next two questions. Where do you find dedicated musicians and what does the listener really want these days?

………though, so many of the "musicians" I know just end up to be gear collectors among other things.

Also, does the public generally want heartless, repetitive music or are have they just lowered their standards leaving them to settle for less? Even if I were able to be part of a great band, would people even dig it?

Cheers."

#346702 - 07/10/12 06:26 AM Re: follow up to the "Deckertainment" thread [Re: Mark79100]
Bill Lewis Offline

Loc: Bluffton/Hilton Head SC USA
Well, McDonalds is the nations #1 restaurant so go from there. HA!